The Homeless

We are a little under a month to equinox. But I tasted Fall air today. It is the angle of the sun. The mix of plant smells and wind is different. A little cooler, a little older. 

 

I went out and cruised The Hood. Checking out the streets I don’t normally ride down.

 

I cruise and wonder, were would I hide? Where would I go in this chunk of Spenard if I was homeless? You’d have to stay low to the ground or hide in some micro green belt with trees. 

 

Page_1Page_3

 

 

 

The only truly empty building that a person might squat in is boarded up tight.

 

 

I think this as another homeless person is found dead. And another woman assaulted. How many this summer? How many of the homeless dead and/or raped? Eight, ten? That we, the public know about. People will blame the alcohol. Being a alcoholic doesn’t mean you deserve to die. Being homeless doesn’t mean you deserve to be raped.

 

Nor do you deserve to be discriminated against if you are LGBT. Dear readers, you have no idea how often I get called ‘Sir’. I admit that with my size XL body and bike gear it can be hard to tell from a distance. But sometimes, some one will realize their ‘mistake’. Then they get mad. My androgyny makes their certitude feel not so certain any more.

 

I was leaving Carrs the evening that the mayor veto Ord. #64. Done with my shopping and unlocking my bike. When this kid comes up to me, shoving a fucking Chick tract in my face. “Sir, this is something for you to read.”

 

Chick tracts have been around forever. Just like the racist homophobic brand of Christianly they promote. Jackie collects them, they are so over the top. I’d take the fucking thing normally and mail it to her with the next Box-o-vice. But this day I was not into it. “I’m not a ‘Sir’ and I don’t want your damn tract.” A low ‘I will cut your throat if you touch’ me growl. The kid took two steps back and bailed.

 

And today I got a knock on the door from the Jehovah Witnesses. What am I? Some sort of rite of passage for new missionaries?

Page_1Page_2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Does this look like the front porch of some one who is ready to be converted? 

 

It is the passers of the homophobic track that will be protected in this town, by our new mayor. 

 

If you are branded as “The Other” the Homeless, the LGBT, the Brown, The Poor, well kiss your ass good-by.

 

Winter is coming and it is looking to be a long one.

 

 

 

One Response to “The Homeless”

  1. Aw…it’s been forever since I got a new Chick tract! The last two days I’ve actually been thinning out my collection of religious tracts (keeping all the Chick stuff though). I got a ton of Herbert Armstrong literature dating back to the early ’60s out of my grandma’s house. Finally sorting through it. Most is getting shredded and tossed on the chicken coop floor. But I love the ones about the Revelation and prophecies about the evil Soviet Union and Vatican.

Comments are closed.

