Memorial Day.

BMac showed up at my door last night with a open box of wine and his glass half full. Bringing with him Shawn a buddy from New Orleans. Shawn is a Southern Gentleman. After he finished up his can of beer, he asked “Ma’am, where should I put this?” I’ve been addressed as Ma’am before this. But this time, for the first time I felt ok about it. He’s up for a summer of less heat, and less unconfined crude oil.

BMac mentioned that he he had been in Alaska since 1990. He missed our spill. At least the shock of it all. I told Shawn that I was so sorry for what has happened in the gulf.

Once B settled into Anchorage life he started a zine. A now archaic media device in the time of faceblogtwits. I met him soon after, and started drawing comics. By hand.

Seeing B, drinking, talking, and coughing, I forgot to take of picture of them but here’s BMac  circa. 2006.

That’s Jackie with her back to you.

The conjunction of B’s visit and Memorial Day reminded me that I had the comic.

Spent a good day cropping, copying, and trying to match colors. 1994, wow. I remember I wanted to draw like a ten year old boy with this one. I think I kinda did it.

One Response to “Memorial Day.”

  1. Pico Alaska Says:

    Didn’t know story about your Uncle and the finger. Was it Patton himself who cut the finger. … And it has to be “cut” instead of “chopped” because it was so selective–one finger, not hitting/chopping the others. I’m assuming he kept the ring, but did he ever say what happened to the officer? … Fine little story.

Comments are closed.

